Paths to Certification

The paths to certification are designed to ensure that FP Canada™ certificants can meet the high standards of competence and ethics required to meet the evolving needs of Canadians and ensure that they remain relevant to the financial services industry. To understand the differences between QAFP™ and CFP® certifications, visit Certifications.

If you are interested in pursuing either QAFP certification or CFP certification, and hold relevant financial or other professional qualifications, you may be eligible to pursue a faster, alternate path to certification. Learn More

Candidates with other designations or licenses may qualify for Education Exemptions from components of FP Canada’s Core Curriculum and Advanced Curriculum. Learn More

Important Changes to Certification Requirements – Effective January 1, 2020

FP Canada is making changes to its certification programs:

  • Effective January 1, 2020, FPSC Level 1® certification will be replaced by QAFP certification. Current FPSC Level 1 certificants will automatically become QAFP professionals on January 1, 2020.
  • Candidates pursuing CFP certification will no longer be required to write the FPSC Level 1 examination.
  • New professional education requirements will be introduced for candidates pursuing both QAFP certification and CFP certification.
  • QAFP certification candidates will be required to demonstrate one year of relevant work experience prior to certification.
Candidates who pass the November 2019 FPSC Level 1 examination will not be required to demonstrate one year of relevant work experience to be eligible for QAFP certification. There is no change to the three-year work experience for CFP certification. Post-secondary education requirements for CFP certification and QAFP certification will come into effect in 2022.
Learn More

Select an FP Canada Certification Below to View Your Path to Completion

FPSC Level 1® Certification and QAFP™ Certification

Qualified Associate Financial Planner™ certification will be launched in 2020 by FP Canada, replacing FPSC Level 1 certification. All FPSC Level 1 certificants in good standing will automatically become QAFP professionals on January 1, 2020. QAFP certification will indicate that an individual has demonstrated the knowledge, skills, experience and professionalism to provide holistic financial planning strategies and solutions for clients with less complex planning needs. Learn more about the Transition Rules for FPSC Level 1 certificants.
Learn more about QAFP certification (effective January 1, 2020).

Current Path to FPSC Level 1 Certification - In Effect Until December 31, 2019
View the Path


New Paths to QAFP Certification - Effective January 1, 2020
QAFP Bridge Path to CFP Certification

CFP® Certification

Certified Financial Planner® certification is the most widely recognized financial planning designation in Canada and throughout the world and is considered the standard for the profession. CFP professionals have demonstrated the knowledge, skills, experience and ethics to examine their clients’ entire financial picture, at the highest level of complexity required of the profession, and work with their clients to build a financial plan so that they can Live Life Confidently™.